I may just be insane for doing this…

21 Apr

Almost exactly 2 years ago I hung up my cap and goggles, tucked my bathing suits away in a back drawer somewhere I hoped I’d soon forget, and retired from 17 long years of competitive swimming. Now, don’t get me wrong, I didn’t despise swimming, and it wasn’t that I was burned out from years of back-and-forth or screaming Nazi coaches. In fact, I loved my years of swimming. It was just that I longed for the things every female swimmer wishes for: slender shoulders and skin that doesn’t stink of chlorine.

So after retiring, I did as many U.S. recession graduates did, and I moved back home with my parents. I gave myself the gift of a nice gym membership, and told myself I would go out there and experience all that the fitness world had to offer outside of the natatorium.

This started out just fine at first, but as the year progressed, I found nothing could hold my attention the way swimming did. First I tried  personal trainer, then moved on to designing a workout for myself. Craving the thrill of competition, I ran my first 5k… and my first 10k… but slowly grew tired or running and jumped back in the pool. I attended yoga classes, biked, jogged… almost anything you could imagine, but I just couldn’t motivate myself to keep up with anything. With all of my working out I managed to stay in pretty decent shape, besides my newly developed noncommittal nature.

About a year ago I joined the Peace Corps and found myself in a country so unaccustomed to foreigners that simply walking down the street I met hecklers, points, stares, and the occasional crowd. For this reason, running or any form of outside exercise were simply impossible. With long volunteering hours, endless responsibilities, and one long winter without central heating, I found I had gained about 25 lbs since my swimming days.

After about a year, I’ve decided its high time to do something for myself. Since my workout options are limited, I recently got my hands on a copy of Beachbody’s Insanity. Tomorrow my challenge will begin: 60 days of Insanity workouts. Its my intention to chart my progress (or lack thereof) on this blog as… hopefully… a way of staying motivated, to laugh off my struggles, and keep track of progress.

My Goals?   Weight loss, to revive my former active persona, and to do something for myself after a long day of volunteering.

Tomorrow begins day 1… post your motivations here, because I’m sure to need them.

Leave a Reply

